Mindmanager 2023 very slow with 26 MB file

D P. shared this question 10 months ago
Answered

Hello

I have been using Mindmanager Pro 6 since 2005. It is a piece of software I use everyday and at this stage I have my entire life on it i.e. projects, reference etc.

I was very happy with its performance until I recently got an error message on saving. It said there was an issue with 'parameters'. This freaked me out a bit so I decided to start a trial of Mindmanager 2023 in the hope that it would be more stable and faster.

I have found Mindmanager 2023 to be much much slower than Mindmanager Pro 6, almost to the point of it being unusable. It really struggles with my 26 MB Mindmanager file whereas Mindmanager Pro 6 could handle it quite easily. My computer has plenty of power: 32 GB RAM, i7-770K CPU, SSD drive, Windows 10. My map has 29,000 topics however there are probably only about 10 small JPEG images attached.

Here are some examples of Mindmanager 2023 performance:

It takes 50 seconds for Mindmanager 2023 to load up my 26 MB Mindmanager file.

It takes about 15 seconds to perform a save.

There is a 3 - 5 second second delay after typing before anything appears on the screen. It is the same when deleting a topic.

I am very disappointed with Mindmanager 2023. I had expected it to be faster than the 2005 version. I used Mindmanager pro 6 on a laptop as well however Mindmanager 2023 can not open my Mindmanager file on my laptop at all.

Is there a way to allocate more of the computers resources to Mindmanager so that it runs faster, or is mind managers inability to handle 25 MB files a software issue?

Are there any plans to rewrite the software so it can handle larger files much faster? What future version of Mindmanager will this be?