Project ID as Topic Prefix

Paul S. shared this question 2 years ago
Answered

Hi All,

I'm relatively new in MindManager so I hope you can help me here:

I am using an Overview Map in which I link about 20 different Projects via Map Roll up. To get an Overview about the Time Planning I have in every map a Section where i roughly schedule the different projects Phases. As these Phases are named the same (eg. "Specification" or "Implementation") I would like to add a Prefix to the topic names of these Phased to be able to distinguish what Phase belong to which Project)

e.g. "[P21-09] Implementation" should be the "Implementation" -Topic of Project "P21-09".

Any Ideas how i could accomplish that?

Replies (5)

photo

I'm not aware of a MindManager feature that can insert a prefix in the topic text, but you could get something similar by using Topic Tags. If each target map for the Map Rollup function has a tag on the linked topic which identifies the project name, then these tags will be rolled up to the overview map and you will be able to see the project name in the topics in the overview map.

photo

Hey Nick,

thanks for your comment. I directly tried it out indeed this is a good option. Unfortunately the tag is not shown in the Gantt Pro View. Here, especially when using the Ressource Chart, i can not distinguish between the Phases of different Projects. So i would need something that I can see in the Gantt Pro Ressource Chart view...

photo

Ah, you are right - the tags are not exported to the Gantt chart.

However, if you also type the project name in the Topic Notes of the source topic in the project map, then this text will be rolled up to the overview map. When you hover over a bar in the Gantt chart it will show you a preview of the topic notes in the tooltip. Unfortunately I can't find a way to render this in the text next to the bar. It is not included in the text adjacent to the bar because the notes may be extensive and may be multi-line.